The Institute of Austrian and German Music Research (IAGMR) in the Department of Music and Media at the University of Surrey is delighted to announce the opening of registration for its inaugural conference: 

Revisiting Austrian and German Music: from the ‘Spring of Nations’ to the Cold War

September 17–18, 2021

The event is online and free to all

The conference includes three keynote papers:

Mark Berry (Royal Holloway, University of London): ‘Wagner’s Actuality’

Caroline Kita (Washington University in St Louis): ‘Sounding Difference: Revisiting Jewishness and Otherness in Austrian and German Music’

Nick Attfield (University of Birmingham):  ‘Austrofascism, Music, and the Austro-German’ 

as well as a lecture-recital by Anna Scott (Academy of Creative and Performing Arts, Leiden University): ‘Brahms in a Sharper Key: the Politics of Performance Style’

This conference gives an opportunity to rethink, revise, and renew understanding of Austrian and German music of the 19th and 20th centuries through interrogating historical and scholarly paths towards canonization or obscurity, popularity or neglect, and cultural centres or peripheries.

The conference considers music primarily, though not exclusively, from c. 1848 to the 1960s—the ‘Spring of Nations’ to the Cold War—as it emerged during periods of intense cultural and social change in the lives of these nations and neighbouring regions, and in the context of wider European, and indeed global, interconnections which have continued to shape geo-political conditions to this day. The conference aims to render the ‘unmarked’ ‘marked’, the familiar unfamiliar, and, through questioning the very formulation ‘Austro-German’, to explore new methodologies for reconceiving canonic music,, and to open up new avenues of research in neglected areas and overlooked repertoire.

Please click the link below to download the conference programme:

The IAGMR acknowledges the generous support of the Royal Musical Association and the Department of Music and Media at the University of Surrey in making this event possible.

Conference committee:

Professor Jeremy Barham
Professor Erik Levi
Dr Beth Snyder
Dr Genevieve Arkle

The University of Surrey is fully committed to the principles of equality and diversity enshrined in the Race Equality Charter, the Athena SWAN Charter, the Disability Confident scheme, and through its support of LGBTQ+ communities.